Facebook Users Will Now Have a Say About Their Profiles After Death

February 16, 2015 by Sarah Netemeyer

Late last week, Facebook annouced that Facebook users will be able to select a 'legacy contact' to manage their account in the event they pass away or have their account wiped away completely. 

 

Legacy contacts will be able to:

  • Compose a post to display at the top of the newly memorialized Timeline 
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

 

Facebook users may also grant their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook. (No logging in as the deceased or reading private messages though.) 

 

To name your legacy contact, visit your Facebook "Settings" and then hit "Security." At the bottom of all the options is the legacy contact field. Simply type in their name and you're done, you may then opt to send your legacy contact a note about your wishes. You are also give the choice to just have your account deleted upon your death. 

 

So how does Facebook know when to memorialize a Facebook account? A friend or family member may make that request here